Career Development Council

The CDP established a Career Development Council with the primary role of ensuring that junior investigators receive the conceptual and technical support necessary to transition to full independence. Each committee member typically serves a 3-year term. The Council currently includes the Chair (Dr. Xinxin Ding) and Drs. Nathan Cherrington, Donna Zhang, Zelieann Craig, and Jefferey Burgess. The Council meets at least quarterly and (i) reviews and approves the selection of new CDP-supported investigators and investigator progress through annual interviews and progress reports; (ii) reviews and approves mentee/mentor pairing and mentoring plans to ensure the latter fulfill the CDP mission; (iii) oversees scientific enrichment activities; (iv) evaluates the qualifications for faculty participation according to defined criteria and assess yearly faculty contribution for continued membership; and (v) addresses potential group and/or investigator concerns as they arise. The Council has moved aggressively and incisively to identify faculty at the early and mid-career level who are currently performing high-quality research in areas relevant to EH and who could be attracted to the SWEHSC, thereby becoming active players in EHS research. Our goal is to increase the stature of EHS research within UA and across the state.