External Advisory

The External Advisory Board (EAB) is appointed by the Center Director following consultation and input from the Internal Advisory Board (IAB). The EAB provides an independent assessment of SWEHSC programs and progress and insight for future direction. Members of the EAB are all distinguished scientists selected for their excellence in specific areas of research and for their familiarity with the research activities of SWEHSC investigators. It should be noted that all EAB members have expertise in translational research and environmental exposures relevant to SWEHSC, and considerable experience in program administration, grant and manuscript review, and multidisciplinary initiatices.  Thus, the EAB is well-equipped to consult on the translation of collaborative, interdisciplinary efforts into major scientific advances.

David Eaton – Dr. Eaton is the Vice Provost at the University of Washington and Professor of Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences.  He was the founding director of the Center for Exogenetics and Environmental Health, an NIEHS Core Center of Excellence, from 1995-2013.

B. Paige Lawrence – Dr. Lawrence is Chair and Professor in the Department of Environmental Medicine at the University of Rochester.  She currently serves as the Center Director of the Rochester Environmental Health Sciences Center.

Gary Miller – Dr. Miller is the Vice Dean for Research Strategy and Innovation in the Department of Environmental Health Sciences Columbia University, Mailman School of Public Health.

Ivan Rusyn – Dr. Rusyn is a Professor of of the Department of Veterinary Integrative Biosciences and the Principal Investigator in the Laboratory of Environmental Genomics at the Texas A & M University.

Laura Van Winkle – Dr. Van Winkle is a Professor of Respiratory Toxicology and a member of the John Muir Institute of the Environment: Center for Health and the Environment at UC Davis.

Jill Johnston - Dr. Johnston is an Assistant Professor of Population and Public Health Sciences at the Keck School of Medicine, University of Southern California.