SWEHSC Faculty Recognized During Pharmacy State of the College

March 20, 2023
2023 State of the Pharmacy College Awardees

SWEHSC members with appointments in the University of Arizona R. Ken Coit College of Pharmacy were recognized for their dedication, service and contributions to research during the “State of the College” event in December.

“It is important to recognize the members of our community who embody the mission of the college and help to advance our college’s people, programs and profession,” said Rick Schnellmann, PhD, dean of the Coit College of Pharmacy, SWEHSC member, and the Howard J. Schaeffer Endowed Chair in Pharmaceutical Sciences.

The A. Jay Gandolfi New Investigator Award - Jianqin Lu, PhD
“Since his arrival in 2019, Dr. Lu’s research has been published in journals such as Nature Nanotechnology, Nature Communications and the Journal of Controlled Release. His work has resulted in four U.S. patent applications.”

The Schnellmann Family Faculty Award - Xinxin Ding, PhD
“As a result of Dr. Ding’s leadership, the college has risen to No. 5 in the nation in funding from the National Institutes of Health, up 38 spots since his arrival. In addition to his personal commitment to science and education, Dr. Ding has been a constant advocate for the training of toxicologists and environmental scientists.”

Dean’s Outstanding Service Award - Nathan Cherrington, PhD, ATS
“Dr. Cherrington serves on several professional organizations and committees, sharing his expertise and offering leadership to groups such as the Society of Toxicology Continuing Education Committee and the Pacific Northwest Center for Translational Environmental Health Research.”

Full Article